QTMPS

Quantum Theory & Many-Particle Systems

Prof. Dr. Dieter Bauer

Quantum Theory & Many-Particle Systems

Quantum Theory & Many-Particle Systems

Prof. Dr. Dieter Bauer

Quantum Theory & Many-Particle Systems

Quantum Theory & Many-Particle Systems

Prof. Dr. Dieter Bauer


Welcome!

This is the home of the group of Prof. Dr. Dieter Bauer.  

We are a theory group which is mainly interested in non-perturbative quantum dynamics and time-dependent many-body physics beyond linear response, predominantly in the context of strong-field laser matter interaction. These topics are both timely and timeless. Timely because of the intense lasers being built all around the world and the potential to use them as attosecond cameras, particle accelerators, "photon factories", or to even "tap the vacuum".

Timeless because strongly driven many-particle systems are ubiquitous in physics at all energy and length scales. None of the well-established many-body approaches work in this regime, which makes the development of new methods fun (and even relevant). 

Methodologically, we employ analytical techniques and numerical methods. We develop our own codes, the latter ranging from simple modelling on the desktop computer to heavy number crunching on supercomputers or GPUs. 

In order to get an idea of what we are doing and with whom we collaborate please give a look to our publications, to our research web page, or visit us.

QTMPS

Quantentheorie & Vielteilchensysteme

Prof. Dr. Dieter Bauer

Quantentheorie & Vielteilchensysteme

Quantentheorie & Vielteilchensysteme

Prof. Dr. Dieter Bauer

Quantentheorie & Vielteilchensysteme

Quantentheorie & Vielteilchensysteme

Prof. Dr. Dieter Bauer


Herzlich willkommen!

Dies ist die Website der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. Dieter Bauer.  

Wir sind eine Theoriegruppe, die sich hauptsächlich für Quantendynamik jenseits von Störungstheorie und zeitabhängige Vielteilchenphysik jenseits der linearen Antworttheorie interessiert - hauptsächlich im Zusammenhang mit der Starkfeld-Laser-Materie-Wechselwirkung. Diese Themen sind sowohl zeitgemäß als auch zeitlos. Zeitgemäß wegen der weltweit gebauten intensiven Laser und deren Potential als Attosekundenkameras, Teilchenbeschleuniger, "Photonenfabriken" oder um sogar das Vakuum "anzubohren".

Zeitlos, da stark getriebene Vielteilchensysteme allgegenwärtig auf allen Energie- und Längenskalen in der Physik sind. Keine der gut etablierten Vielteilchenmethoden funktioniert in diesem Regime, weshalb die Entwicklung neuer Methoden Spaß macht (und sogar relevant ist). 

Methodisch verwenden wir analytische Methoden und Numerik. Wir entwickeln unsere eigenen Computerprogramme, welche von einfachen Modellierungen auf dem Arbeitsplatz-PC bis hin zum schweren number crunching auf Supercomputern alles abdecken. 

Um einen Eindruck von unserer Arbeit und unseren Kollaborationen zu erhalten, empfiehlt es sich, einen Blick auf unsere Publikationen zu werfen oder mal bei uns vorbeizuschauen.

Stellenausschreibung (Post-doc)